• Wed. Jul 24th, 2024

German Blackened Death Battalion THE SPIRIT Announce New Album, ‘Songs Against Humanity’, Coming October 25th First Single “Spectres Of Terror” Out Now!

Press release courtesy of Secret Service PR:

Revered German blackened death battalion THE SPIRIT has announced the impending release of their fourth album, ‘Songs Against Humanity‘, on October 25th with AOP Records. The record follows the band’s critically, chart breaching 2022 album, ‘Of Clarity and Galactic Structures‘, and marks the anticipated next chapter in their celebrated career of masterful brutality. 

Today, THE SPIRIT has revealed the record’s first single, “Spectres of Terror“, an epic, blistering track that will undoubtedly whip the pit and airwaves.

Commenting on the song guitarist/vocalist Matthias Trautes says: 

It’s the first time, that we had trouble to decide what song we want to release first, because they are all so strong. We ended up with “Spectres of Terror”. A fast track that will most likely become a real banger at future live shows.

Stream “Spectres of Terror“: https://youtu.be/5dfPjIviaTo
Pre-Order ‘Songs Against Humanity‘: https://save-it.cc/aop/songs-against-humanity
Available Formats:

Limited coloured vinyl in Trifold Jacket with exclusive bonus track & poster
– lim. 99 Blue marbled (The Spirit exclusive)
– lim. 199 Clear with Iridescent Blue (The Spirit & AOP Records exclusive)
– lim. 99 Bleach marbled (AOP Records exclusive)
– lim. 199 Olivegreen/Bronze with Black splatter (AOP Records exclusive)
– lim. 99 Green against Black (Napalm Records exclusive)

– Gatefold LP (without bonus track)
– Jewelcase CD

Songs Against Humanity‘ Tracklisting: 

1. Against Humanity
2. Room 101
3. Cosmic Rain and Human Dust
4. Spectres of Terror
5. Death Is My Salvation
6. Nothingness Forever
7. Orbiting Sol IV

Formed in Saarbrücken in 2015, THE SPIRIT have emerged from the depth of the German extreme metal void to breathe new life into the black/death metal genre. Often circling around an astronomic leitmotif in their lyrics and concepts, the band is mixing a misanthropic view on the world with cosmic metaphors and the call to see our often narrow-minded and egocentric existence in the larger context of our whole universe.

For two years, the foursome gathered their powers to record their debut album at the Iguana Studios in 2017, and decided to found their own label, Eternal Echoes, in October of the same year, to release “Sounds From The Vortex”. Due to raving press reviews and having made waves in the underground, THE SPIRIT quickly caught the attention of the leading metal label Nuclear Blast and in spring 2018, the band partnered up with them in order to make their debut once again available to a wider audience after the Eternal Echoes edition being out of print already.

After a busy year of 2018, packed with release shows at the German Party.San and Summer Breeze festivals as well as an extensive European tour with Hypocrisy, the band once again entered the studio to push the boundaries of the genre and record their sophomore album. With several vinyl editions having been sold out within only a few hours, Cosmic Terror“ saw the light of day through AOP Records on February 7th and immediately hit #40 of the official German album charts.

On their third offering, “Of Clarity and Galactic Structures”, that entered the charts on a phenomenal #19 in Germany, the band that by now reduced its members to the two core musicians Matthias Trautes (vocals, guitars, bass) and Manuel Steitz (drums), hold on to their black/death metal roots yet take the progressive elements to a whole new level with the brain twisting rhythm changes and virtuosic instrumental performances.

The bands upcoming fourth record “Songs Against Humanity” will be released on October the 25th 2024 via AOP Records.
The Spirit is:

Matthias Trautes, Guitar/Vocals
Manuel Steitz, Drums
Stanley Robertson, Guitar (Live)
Linus Klausenitzer, Bass (Live)
Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | Bigcartel
Label shop | Facebook Instagram

By Courtney Ware

Lead photographer, art director, editor, and writer. Born and raised in Las Vegas, NV. Avid music lover, but favorites include thrash metal, deathcore, metalcore, and post hardcore. - Photography is my passion, and I've carried cameras around for as long as I can remember. I endlessly strive for the constant growth and capabilities this medium can offer. Nothing makes me happier than capturing emotions that I see, and sharing my knowledge in how I did it. - I have an undying love for my local music scene, having been a part of it since my teens.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.